Detailed Map of Spain

Regional, Physical, Road Map Spain

Spain is one of the largest countries in Europe, having 504,782 square km (194,897 sq miles), Spain is the world’s 51st-largest country.

Geography of Spain

Situated on the Iberian peninsula, Spain borders Portugal on the west and France on the north. Other neighbouring countries are UK (Gibraltar), Andora, and Marocco, as Spain has also enclaved in North Africa (Ceuta, Melilla, and Peñón de Vélez de la Gomera). However, Spain is mostly surrounded by seas, having 1,660 km (1,030 mi) of Mediterranean coast and 710 km (440 mi) of Atlantic coast is 710 km (440 mi).
There are also two large groups of islands forming parts of Spain: Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea (Majorca, Minorca, Ibiza, and Formentera) and the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean (Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera, El Hierro, La Graciosa, Alegranza and Montaña Clara).

Mainland relief in Spain is dominated by high plateaus (called mesetas) and several mountain ranges (sierras). The most important are the Pyrenees separating Spain from France, and the famous Sierra Nevada close to Granada. Running from these heights, the rivers of Spain mainly flow west and south to the Atlantic Ocean. The Duero, Tajo (Tagus), Guadiana and Guadalquivir rivers flow into the Atlantic, while the Ebro in the east flows into the Mediterranean. You can easily find them on our detailed map of Spain. The presence of those large rivers, forming alluvial plains, is of great importance for agriculture and navigation in dry Spanish climates.

Physical Map of Spain – Geographical Map of Spain


Topographical map of Spain.
Author: Bas de Jong

  • U.S. National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
  • The Times Atlas of the World. 11th ed. London: Times Books, 2005.
  • “Spain.” Encyclopædia Britannica from Encyclopædia Britannica Online. [Accessed February, 2021].

Map of Regions of Spain – Spain Regional Map

Spain is organized in 17 autonomous communities: Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, the Balearic Islands, the Basque Country, the Canary Islands, Cantabria, Castile and León, Castile-La Mancha, Catalonia, the Community of Madrid, Extremadura, Galicia, La Rioja, Navarra, the Region of Murcia and the Valencian Community — and two autonomous cities: Ceuta and Melilla.
Autonomous communities are divided into provinces (provincias), which are composed of basic territorial units: municipalities (municipios). Check this detailed map of Spain administrative units:

Maps of Spanish cities

Appendix to the detailed map of Spain

Map of Andalucia

Map of Aragon

Principality of Asturias
Map of Asturias

Balearic Islands
Map of Balearic Islands

Basque Country
Map of Basque Country

Canary Islands
Map of Canary Islands


Map of Cantabria


Castilla la Mancha
Map of Castilla la Mancha

Castilla y Leon
Map of Castilla y Leon

Map of Catalonia

Map of Extremadura

Map of Galicia

Map of Madrid

Murcia Region
Region of Murcia map

Map of Navarra

La Rioja
Map of La Rioja

Valencian Community
Map of Valencian Community

Go UP to Detailed Map of Spain.




Show More


Hi, I'm Pablo, an internet marketer who enjoys working and travelling around the Costa Blanca, Spain. I have been fortunate enough to have met some amazing people on my travels and was lucky enough to be able to make Spain my second home in 2018.

Related Articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button

Contact to Listing Owner

Captcha Code
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x